Welcome 2018-11-19T16:39:28+00:00
Young Alumnae
Chapter Leadership
About Our Chapter

When I moved to Nashville in late 2001, Thetas in the alumnae chapter welcomed me and provided a link to the community. Over the years I have served as a college chapter advisor and an alumnae chapter officer. I’ve chaired the Bal d’Hiver and attend every Theta event I possibly can. Being active in this group of outstanding women has made Nashville feel like home. I cross paths with Thetas in all parts of my life these days and feel a special bond with each of them.

Our alumnae chapter has a unique and valuable opportunity to help foster relationships among would-be strangers, and I love playing a role in bringing people together. Thetas spend no more than four years in a college chapter but a lifetime as alumnae. I hope you will join us!

Ann Kloeppel
President, 2018-2020

Join Now

Young Alumnae Group

Our active young alumnae group is comprised of recent college graduates ages 22-35. These women enjoy social time and service activities primarily on evenings and weekends.

For more information about this subset of our alumnae chapter, take a look at their calendar and Facebook page.

YA Facebook Group
YA Calendar

2018 Chapter Leadership

PresidentAnn Kloeppel (Gamma Iota-Kentucky)

TreasurerNancy Windley (Gamma Iota-Kentucky)

SecretaryElizabeth Moore (Alpha Eta-Vanderbilt)

Assistant TreasurerEstie Harris (Delta Omega-Texas A&M)

Membership Communications CoordinatorPaige Geiger (Zeta Tau-Delaware)

Founders Day ChairmenMarees Choppin (Alpha Eta-Vanderbilt)
Sallie Norton (Alpha Eta-Vanderbilt)

Bal d’Hiver ChairmenBetsy Hunt (Epsilon Eta-Centre)
Devereux Pollock (Gamma Upsilon-Miami)

Social Media ManagerMary Bess Corbin (Epsilon Epsilon-Baylor)

NominatingJessica Siegel (Gamma-Butler)

Philanthropy/CASA RepresentativeKatie Braddy (Beta Iota-Colorado)

Family & Children’s Service RepresentativesBeth O’Shea (Alpha Eta-Vanderbilt)
Nancy Stabell (Epsilon Zeta-Mississippi)

Recruitment Recommendation Chairman (RRBC)Alice Whitson (Delta Omicron-Alabama)

Hospitality/Fall Supper ChairmenAdrienne Nordman (Gamma-Butler)
Melissa Straub (Zeta Sigma-Ohio Northern)

Young Alumnae LiaisonsJulia Fleming (Alpha Eta-Vanderbilt)
Becca Jacques (Alpha Eta-Vanderbilt)

Panhellenic DelegateAdrienne Nordman (Gamma-Butler)

Advisory Board Chairmen (Belmont)Suzanne McLemore (Delta Pi-Tennessee)
Melissa Bradford (Delta Omicron-Alabama)

Advisory Board Chairmen (Vanderbilt)Mary Lee Bartlett (Alpha Eta-Vanderbilt)

Alumnae/Active Relations (Belmont)Giovanna Cervantes (Eta Phi-Belmont)

Alumnae/Active Relations (Vanderbilt)Susana Huddleston (Alpha Eta-Vanderbilt)

About Our Chapter

The Nashville Theta Alumnae Chapter was chartered in 1923 by a trio of alumnae from Alpha Eta-Vanderbilt, Alpha Iota-Washington University in St. Louis, and Beta Rho-Duke. We have grown into an award-winning chapter, having earned the prestigious Kappa Alpha Theta Fraternity’s Founders Award and having achieved recognition at the Golden Kite level.

We hope you will join us as an active member in our community by paying dues. Members receive discounts to events, all alumnae chapter communication, and 4 issues per year of the Kappa Alpha Theta Magazine. Membership is by the calendar year, and we offer several membership categories.

Nashville Thetas reconnect with long-time friends and meet new ones at our gatherings throughout the year. Join us monthly at Theta Lunch Bunch for a casual meal. Attend Founders Day, when we celebrate our 50- and 75-year Thetas. Welcome cooler weather and back-to-school at the always-popular Fall Supper. Gather with young alumnae for YA happy hours around town. Make memories at a service or personal development event.

We are very fortunate to have two Kappa Alpha Theta college chapters in Nashville. Alpha Eta-Vanderbilt University was installed in 1904. Eta Phi-Belmont University was chartered in 2011. Nashville-area alumnae fill advisory boards at both chapters. Serving as mentors and advisors to collegiate members is an honor and a privilege.

The Bal d’Hiver Benefit, Inc., which began in 1947 and is the oldest charity ball in Nashville, is our major philanthropic event. It raises funds to support Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA), Family & Children’s Service, and the Kappa Alpha Theta Foundation. Since 2008, we have raised over $1,000,000 for these charities.

1947 Ann Wright Hart
1948 Gray Oliver
1949 Peggy Montgomery
1950 Jane Stone
1951 Jane Delony
1952 Monica Bramblett
1953 Nancy Johnson
1954 Helen Crain
1955 Ann Schwartz
1956 Alice Holcomb
1957 Pat Rich
1958 Sarah Perry
1959 Nan Callaway
1960 Sally Alexander
1961 Frances Edwards
1962 Beverly Kardokus
1963 Ann Wells
1964 Ann Shull
1965 Karin Coble
1966 Jo Ann Bainbridge

1967 Liz Bass
1968 Sarah Perry
1969 Peggy Groos
1970 Gray Oliver
1971 Befke McIntosh
1972 Frances Edwards
1973 Marie Maxwell
1974 Ann Bumstead
1975 Patty Wood
1976 Anne Lara
1977 Mary Wade
1978 Chrissie McClure
1979-81 Jane Corcoran
1981-83 Sandra Lipman
1983-84 Missy Eason
1984-85 Jean Ann Banker
1985-87 Alice Whitson
1987-88 Irwin Fisher
1988-89 Sallie Norton
1989-90 Libby Oldfield Broadhurst
1990-91 Marees Choppin

1991-92 Gray Thornburg
1992-93 Lyn Cate James
1993-94 Leigh Atkins
1994-95 Vernon Peterman
1995-96 Mary Hawkins
1996-97 Allison Lucas
1997-98 Scottie Coombs
1998-99 Mary Lee Bartlett
1999-00 Amy Colton
2000-01 Anne Riegle
2001-03 Kim Harvey Looney
2003-05 Estie Harris
2005-07 Britt Anderson
2007-09 Jennifer June
2009-10 Cathy Shull
2010-11 Mary Pillow Thompson
2012-14 Jenney Springer Keaty
2014-16 Cathy Krumm
2016-18 Jessica Seigel
2018-20 Ann Kloeppel

Theta of the Year is an award that is given annually at the Founders Day celebration. It honors a Kappa Alpha Theta alumna who has gone the extra mile in her work for the fraternity and the community.

1983-1984 Leigh Zerfoss Atkins
1984-1985 Jane Tarkington
1985-1986 Jane Chadwell Delony
1986-1987 Ann Bumstead
1987-1988 Ann Peebles
1988-1989 Merrie Morrissey Clark
1989-1990 Ellen Hofstead
1990-1991 Lissa Bradford
1991-1992 Dianne Vaughn
1992-1993 Lillias Johnston
1993-1994 Missy Eason
1994-1995 Betsy Brittain
1995-1996 Lyn Cate James
1996-1997 Cathy Cate Sullivan
1997-1998 Nancy Johnston
1998-1999 Jane Buchanan Corcoran
1999-2000 Mary Lee Gibson Bartlett
2000-2001 Ellen Mears Duncan

2001-2002 Allison Harris Jones
2002-2003 Suzanne McLemore
2003-2004 Kim Harvey Looney
2004-2005 Gray Oliver Thornburg
2005-2006 Ann Kloeppel
2006-2007 Adelaide Davis
2007-2008 Cathy Shull
2008-2009 Jennie Bowman
2009-2010 Estie Harris
2010-2011 Sarah Ann Ezzell
2011-2012 Britt Anderson
2012-2013 Alice Whitson
2013-2014 Cindy Harrison Luna
2014-2015 Irwin Fisher
2015-2016 Anne Riegle
2016-2017 Melissa Bradford
2017-2018 Cathy Krumm