The Bal d’Hiver began as a traditional debutante ball in 1947 and has since grown into a major community fundraiser. It is Nashville’s oldest charity ball. Today, the event honors young women for their accomplishments and celebrates the many opportunities that await them. In doing so, we raise funds for our important charities that serve women, children, and families.

After consultation with the Board of Directors of the Bal d’Hiver Benefit, Inc., we have made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 event, which would have taken place Thanksgiving weekend, due to complications related to the COVID-19 pandemic.

While we are disappointed to pause this storied Nashville tradition, we remain devoted to our charities that depend on our efforts: CASA, Family & Children’s Service, and the Kappa Alpha Theta Foundation. We will launch a fundraising appeal by letter and email later this year so that we may continue our support.

As a women’s organization, the Nashville Alumnae Chapter of Kappa Alpha Theta is especially proud of Nashville’s accomplished young women.


Ann Kloeppel and Caroline Smith
2020 Bal d’Hiver Chairmen

Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA)

CASA’s mission is to advocate for hope, healing, and permanency for abused and neglected children in juvenile court by providing trained volunteer advocates in the Nashville area.
Since 1984, The Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) program has served Nashville by speaking for abused and neglected children caught in the court system and helping them find safe and permanent homes.

Learn More >>

Family and Children’s Service

Family & Children’s Service (FCS) serves all people in crisis and transition by meeting them where they are, understanding their needs, and connecting them to the resources they need. FCS often ‘fills in the gaps’ in social services, creating a safety net to ensure that all children and families can be safe and healthy. Each year they provide services to more than 60,000 Tennesseans.

Learn More >>

Kappa Alpha Theta Foundation

The Kappa Alpha Theta Foundation is dedicated to securing and managing resources for educational, leadership, and philanthropic programs of the Fraternity and for the scholastic, professional, and service pursuits of its members to help them reach their fullest potential and make a difference in the world. The Foundation puts our Fraternity’s ideals into action.

Learn More >>

1947 Jane Ambrose & Gray Oliver
1948 Damaris Steele
1949 Ann Diehl
1950 Juanita Huggins
1951 Monica Bramblett
1952 Nancy Johnson
1953 Ann Schwartz
1954 Jane Dudley
1955 Sis Holland
1956 Helen Crain
1957 Covey Brittain
1958 Ann Tuck
1959 Lallie Wallace
1960 Donia Dickerson
1961 Jane Entrekin
1962 Polly Craig Glover
1963 Gray Bolster
1964 Jo Ann Bainbridge
1965 Florence Davis
1966 Carlene Gaskin
1967 Mary Stumb
1968 Ann Schull Lauterbach
1969 Kay Alexander
1970 Sissy Edge Payne
1971 Ann Harmer
1972 Em Crook
1973 Betty Finucane
1974 Jo Ann Hayes
1975 Katie Gambill
1976 Marie Maxwell
1977 Jane Corcoran & Lou Mudter Dimond
1978 Leigh Atkins & Liz Hackett
1979 Marsha Patterson & Laurie Aldredge
1980 Chrissie McClure & Sandra Lipman
1981 Mary Loveless & Missy Eason
1982 Gray Thornburg & Emily Frith
1983 Jean Ann Banker & Alice Whitson
1984 Marees Choppin & Katie Benson
1985 Vernon Peterman & Missy Voight
1986 Sallie Norton & Sarah Ramsey
1987 Florence Blair & Irwin Fisher
1988 Betsy Brittain & Margaret Riddell
1989 Lyn Cate James & Cindy Luna
1990 Allison Lucas & Edie Simpkins
1991 Janetta Concepcion & Mary Jo Johnson
1992 Judy Meadows & LaVoe Mulgrew
1993 Mary Hawkins & Mary Swords
1994 Elizabeth Coble & Scottie Coombs
1995 Carla Nelson & Kim Looney
1996 Adelaide Davis & Julie Branstetter
1997 Colleen Johnson & Karen Rich
1998 Ellen Duncan & Beth O’Shea
1999 Kim Dowland & Karlen Garrard
2000 Britt Anderson & Barbara Keith Payne
2001 Cathy Shull & Paige McClain
2002 Sarah Ann Ezzell & Sandra Sarratt
2003 Jane Corcoran & Beth O’Shea
2004 Lawrence Cook & Ann Kloeppel
2005 Bitsy Hughes & Elizabeth King
2006 Bal d’Hiver break
2007 Bal d’Hiver break
2008 Edie Simpkins & Mary Pillow Kirk
2009 Sarah Ramsey & Liz Hackett
2010 Teri Worthington & Langhorne King
2011 Anne Nesbitt & Jencie Tipton
2012 Kim Looney & Carla Nelson
2013 Elizabeth Coble & Laura Dale
2014 Irwin Fisher & Anne Riegle
2015 Mary Lee Bartlett & Amy Colton
2016 Mary Bess Corbin & Jenney Springer Keaty
2017 Kim Looney & Carla Nelson
2018 Betsy Hunt & Devereux Pollock
2019 Susana Huddleston & Cathy Krumm
2020 Ann Kloeppel & Caroline Smith